Curriculum Vitae

Thomas Kodadek

Thomas Kodadek, PhD

Department of Chemistry

UF Scripps Biomedical Research

Scripps Research Joint Appointments

Faculty, Graduate Program


Ph.D. (Chemistry), Stanford University, 1985
B.S. (Chemistry), University of Miami, 1981

Professional Experience

2022-Present  Professor of Chemistry, UF Scripps Biomedical Research
2009-2022      Professor of Chemistry and Cancer Biology, The Scripps Research Institute
2014-2016       Chair, Dept. of Cancer Biology, The Scripps Research Institute
2011-2014        Vice-Chair, Dept. of Chemistry, The Scripps Research Institute
1988-2009       Professor of Internal Medicine and Molecular Biology,
                            UT-Southwestern Medical Center
2006-2009      Director, Division of Translational Research, UT-Southwestern Medical Center
1987-1997        Assistant, Associate and Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
                            University of Texas at Austin

Awards & Professional Activities

Fellow of the AAAS (elected 1999)
Jane Coffin Childs Postdoctoral Fellow (1985-1987) 
American Cancer Society Junior Faculty Research Award (1989-1991)
Co-Editor of Jan. 2000, Feb. 2005 Issues of Current Opinion In Chemical Biology
Vice Chair (2002) and Chair (2004), Gordon Conference Chem. and Biol. of Peptides 
Member (2000-2004) and Chair (2002-2004) of the NIH BNP Study Section
Member, Nucleic Acids Study Section, American Cancer Society (1995-98)
Member, DOE special study section for materials science research (1994)
Member of the American Chemical Society, AAAS, Royal Society of Chemistry 
Steering Committee Member, NIH Chemistry Assistant Professor Mentoring Workshops 
Member, Scientific Advisory Board of Stratagene Inc., La Jolla, CA 
Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Receptors, LLC, Chaska, MN 
Member, Scientific Advisory Board of Ra Pharmaceuticals, Cambridge, MA 
Member, Scientific Advisory Board of Opko Health, Miami, FL 
Co-Chair, NHLBI Committee for Strategic Planning in Emerging Technologies (2006) 
Board Member, U.S. HUPO Coordinating Committee (2007) 
Member, NIH committee on the Future of the Roadmap (2006)NIH Director’s Pioneer Award (2006-2011)
Member, Special Study Section for NIH Director’s Innovator Awards (2007-8)
F1000 Chemical Biology Faculty Member of the Year Award (2015)
Cope Scholar Award (American Chemical Society) (2016)
Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (elected 2016)
Makineni Award, American Peptide Society (2017)

Editorial Boards

Chief of the Editorial Board Molecular BioSystems (Royal Society of Chemistry) Chemistry & Biology (1/98-2017)
Associate Editor, Chemistry & Biology (6/99-5/03)
Chemtracts-Organic Chemistry (1/97-7/01)